jump to navigation

Out of the darkness comes Enlightenment December 3, 2010

Posted by rm42 in Computers, Linux.
trackback

Although KDE is my work horse, every day, desktop environment, I enjoy testing different environments from time to time. Enlightenment is one environment that I had wanted to try for a while. I remember seeing some beautiful Enlightenment screen shots about 10 years ago. However, at the time, installing it was not an easy task. And frankly, KDE fulfilled all my needs on a DE. However, my admiration for Enlightenment has never really gone away. So, I was glad when I heard that PCLinuxOS had a release sporting this DE. Knowing how easy it is to install and maintain a PCLinuxOS desktop, I thought this may be the time to finally give Enlightenment a try. And I was right.

I have only started playing with it, so don’t expect a deep review. I only want to highlight the beauty of the environment and the good job the PCLinuxOS team did in customizing it for their distro. If you want to learn a bit more about how to configure it, the PCLinuxOS forum has lots of information about it. See here for example.

Lets now look at the PCLinuxOS Enlightenment release. This is what the Grub boot screen looks like:

PCLOS Enlightenment Grub Menu

Click for larger image.

Not a bad start, eh? Here is the desktop log in screen. (Boy, that’s what I’m talking about.)

PCLinuxOS Enlightenment Login Screen

Click for larger image.

This is the screen you see as the desktop is being loaded. (The little white dots are animated gently going up and down.)

PCLinuxOS Enlightment Desktop Loading

Click for larger image.

Here is what a freshly installed PCLinuxOS Enlightenment desktop looks like.

PCLinuxOS Enlightenment Desktop

Click for larger image.

What you see on the top left is the clock. The little green dot is the seconds marker. Looks very sleek in my opinion. The bar at the bottom works very much like the OS X one. The icons get larger as you mouse over them. Running applications add an icon at the right of the bar. The application menu is accessed by left clicking on the desktop. This is what it looks like:

PCLinuxOS Enlightenment Application Menu

Click for larger image

As you can see above, there is a red button at the bottom of the Applications Menu that is called “System”. This is what you get when you click on it:

PCLinuxOS Enlightenment System Button Options

Obviously, that is where you go to terminate your session. And that is where we are going to say good bye for now. I hope you enjoyed this visual tour of the PCLinuxOS 2010.11 Enlightenment Desktop.

Comments»

1. Eric Mesa - December 3, 2010

Pretty neat. I think they had something going for them for a long time, but a lot of the other DEs have caught up in bling and most of us in the rich countries have good enough hardware for it.

2. Christopher Thomas - December 3, 2010

wow, look at you getting all greased up over a desktop environment about 10 years too late.

enlightenment needs more resources, but it’ll never get it. I wish it wasn’t so because back in 1995 I remember trying it and thinking how amazing it was, then in 1998 I tried it again and it was ok, but still, never developed enough to improve.

last time I tried it, last year (2009) it crashed almost constantly. graphics problems everywhere, locking up, needing rebooting.

it’s a pity, but they need more supporters to help with the heavy lifting.

3. wile_coyote7 - December 3, 2010

Just to let you know….I’ve been using this particular version of PCLinuxOS for a few weeks now. What I have found out in that time is that it uses a QT based version of E17, which is why some of the default applications, such as KTorrent and K3b are used instead of lighter alternatives. Because E17 is lighter on resources than KDE, those QT based applications fly!

There are a few annoyances with the system (no show stoppers), but overall it’s nicely thought out, quick, and easy on the eyes AND resources.

4. Quisicosa - December 3, 2010

I installed this on my EEEpc 1000HD. I’m very excited about the Evolution interface but I find that this distro is slowing down noticeably in a very short time and then begins to take longer to boot each new time. I had to uninstall and am currently testing Bodhi Linux. It’s stripped down so there’s a bit of setup but it seems to be perfect otherwise.

5. Peter - December 3, 2010

Im also using the same distribution, been an opensuse user for long, but pclinuxos with e17 is just fast and beautiful!

install E17_themes-agust! great selection of themes,they advise it here http://www.pclinuxos.com/?page_id=215 for reason!

6. Quisicosaliar - December 4, 2010

4. Quisicosa is a lair and just wanted to use his post to promote bodhihole linux. I hate ubunters who can’t let another distro get any accolades. PCLinuxOS E-17 blows bodhihole out the backdoor.

7. slumbergod - December 4, 2010

It’s nice there is an alternative to the usual ones but it’s taken them so long to get to where they are that they’re effectively stuck with something that looks dated.

8. SeekingEnlightenment - December 4, 2010

Though the above comment is rather rude I do empathize with it. I am an ubuntuer at heart, and like many others have wished for enlightenment for years. I checked out bodhilinux, and though I like that it is ubuntu based, it is unfortunately still quite immature as a project (just still alpha). I’m checking out PClinuxOS enlightenment and hope to enjoy it… maybe even actually using it on my netbook. MacPup 511 was so far the second nicest one with enlightenment I’ve recently seen, but I think PClinuxOS gets the crown for now. However I still hope that bodhi matures to a stable, beautiful, and useable distro.

9. evil_genius_180 - December 4, 2010

Does it still crash constantly? I tried PCLOS E17 a couple months ago and Enlightenment kept crashing. It finally did it during an update and I’d had enough, so I pulled the plug and went back to PCLOS KDE. I know they did a new PCLOS E17 release last month, which should include those updates I was trying to download and hopefully fixed the crashing problem. I might try it again to see if it does, especially after seeing those screenshots.

10. Jeff Hoogland - December 4, 2010

I’ve been using Enlightenment everyday for the past few months now. So long as PCLinOS keeps an up to date build it should have no problems with crashes. Everyone should at least try Enlightenment. It is a wonderful desktop.

~Jeff

11. dave - December 4, 2010

I’ve used e17 for about 5 or 6 yrs now. I love it. It has a few bugs here and there and a few crashes here and there. Have you ever looked in to how many developers are actively working on it? Rasterman has done a lot of the work by himself. The other developers have done a lot of work too, but there is not many of them. This project is amazing considering that. It can only get better and for those of you who want to talk trash about e17, I would like to see you do better.

12. SwiftNet - December 5, 2010

E17 rocks. I’ve had it on my netbook for over a year. It is very stable. I did build it from scratch on debianeee.

13. John - December 6, 2010

I had problems installing this and never did get it to work. I think that I will wait until they come out with an X86_64 version which seems like they should have done this a long time ago. I have gone back to Arch Linux so will install it on their instead.

rm42 - December 6, 2010

John,
Was it this particular version, 2010.11?

14. Crow - December 23, 2010

I’ve been using e17 over an updated PCLinuxOS for about a year, both at home and work, is stable, light and has some eye candy useful to invite win users to try Linux.

It has the occasional hiccup, nothing too bad but you have to remember that e17 is beta software.

I’m using it right now in a nettop, some months ago installed PCLinuxOS 2010 updated and then installed task-enlightenment and I can use the KDE4 apps in a faster environment.

15. Blake - December 31, 2010

Actually… Ive recently read the EFL libraries which are used with E17 are in BETA…. E17 itself is still in pre-alpha… though I understand that they are shooting for a stable alpha release by March or April 2011.

As far as PclinuxOS with Enlightenment it does slow down within days of installing it like someone here previously commented.

Bodhi Linux – Ive had it installed on my HD for 3 days and yesterday alone it seg faulted 17 times and I lost 4 hours worth of web work I was doing for a client.
Sorry Jeff.. I will try re-installing Bodhi but if I have the same problems… I will finally walk away from Enlightenment after 7 years of using it on an ELIVE distro cuz it seems like no matter which distro Ive tried with enlightenment, its beyond cool, but its unstable and buggier than —-.

Im so burned out on instability that I may actually finally just give up on “e” and install KDE on my box.
(sigh)
– Blake

16. NMK - January 15, 2011

Who cares… Enlightenment is dead in the water…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

